Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Air Travel (https://www.fodors.com/community/air-travel/)
-   -   Customs: JFK vs MIA (https://www.fodors.com/community/air-travel/customs-jfk-vs-mia-837410/)

Miramar Apr 26th, 2010 08:04 AM

Customs: JFK vs MIA

I am a rookie at flying international-- having only done so a couple times and both times I was lucky enough to have nonstop flights to my final/home destination, so I was able to clear customs there (BOS). However, I will be flying from BGI to BOS Nov 1 and must make a connection. My choices are: fly American via MIA (currently with 2 hr 20 min between flights) or Jet Blue via JFK (currently with 1 hr 50 min between flights).

Which of these airports is "better"/more convenient for clearing customs? I will have checked baggage, so apparently will need to claim my bag, clear customs and then recheck baggage. Not sure if either of these airports is significantly smoother/quicker for this process. (Landing MIA 6:35pm and landing JFK 8:45pm if timing matters). There is a terminal change for sure at JFK-- I don't think there is one at MIA, but not 100% sure.
Thanks for any advice.

mztery Apr 26th, 2010 12:53 PM

plus you asked this on Flyer Talk as well...

yestravel Apr 26th, 2010 01:32 PM

The few times I've landed in Miami the walk from the gate to customs/immigration seemed like miles and miles. We were flying AA from SA and going on to DC. The last times we entered at JFK, it was very smooth and relatively quick. Again AA this time from Europe.

J62 Apr 26th, 2010 02:27 PM

Like YT I've had good experience at AA JFK, but AA and JetBlue use totally different terminals. The immigration/customs experience at JetBlue terminal 4 may be better or worse than AA - you can't generalize for the entire airport.