airfare from capetown, SA to Florida USA

Search

Search this Thread

Old May 27th, 2005, 08:42 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi I am new here. I have a friend that lives near Capetown, South Africa. We are trying to plan a trip for her to visit me in Florida next year (either May or December, 2006) Does anyone know of the best way to get affordable airfare between South Africa and the USA. I have looked at online sites and found a sample fare as low as $1,500 US dollars, but am hoping to find it cheaper as she is on a budget. I have no experience at all with purchasing international airfare. I hope this the appropriate place to post this question, I had considered posting it on the Africa board. Thanks in advance for any advice.
Old May 27th, 2005, 09:34 AM

Given that we are flying from Chicago to Cape Town next month and it is costing as about $1800, I'd say $1500 isn't bad. There was an article in Conde Nast Traveler this month about finding bargains on international flights - it's not easy, but it can be done if you have time and patience. You might want to pick up a copy of the magazine.
Old May 27th, 2005, 09:46 AM
Original Poster

Thanks, I will make sure to pick up a copy of that magazine.
Old May 27th, 2005, 10:30 AM

Delta is partners with South African Airways. I suppose you wouldn't have 100,000 miles tucked away somewhere. I did the Ft. Lauderdale to Atlanta to Cape Town flight between Christmas/New Years. Since that was very high season, I paid dearly, $1951. The price seems to be the same if you do a stopover in Europe. American has a partner in Brazil if you are miles with American. Otherwise, $1,300 is the lowest I've seen.

Suppose you don't want to buy an Around the World ticket?
Old May 27th, 2005, 12:09 PM

Received 17 Likes on 1 Post