Trip Report SA, Botts,Zambia

Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 27th, 2008, 09:43 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I've never done a trip report before but I thought I might write some of the highs and lows for you all to review.
First, the trip was fantastic! We saw every animal expected and unexpected except wild dogs. We were even fortunate enought to see a Black rhino at Phinda!
Now, in order of our trip:

We stayed at the Zambezi Sun at Vic. Falls. The location was great for walking to the Falls and as we walked to the Royal Livingston, we saw giraffe and zebra--a good start.

Two nights at Chobe Safari lodge (CSL)in Botts. The elephants were outstanding.
Wild Horizons did the transfers and were very good however in Botts, they handed over to Bushtrackers and they were barely adequate. Unfortunately CSL no longer does their own game drives but instead uses Bushtracker. Again, the same mediocre service.
The Sunset Cruise at CSL was wonderful. Accomodations & food were fine.

Next two nights were at Camp Okavango in the Delta. The camp was the best. The Delta was very interesting. The problem here was that the island that the camp is located on is very small and the game viewing was limited after boating to another island for a walk. If you're after the "feeling" of a safari camp and want to relax, I would recommend this camp above the others we stayed at. Good staff, food @ a resident Hippo at night. Small enough to have good conversations and strike up friendships.

On to the Drackenburg Mnts. for 2 nights. We stayed at Moorcroft Manor in Hinesville. Very upscale and so many forks at the place settings that after the first 2 or 3 I didn't know which ones to use. Pampered living and the softest beds of our trip.
We took the 4x4 trip up Sani pass to Lesoto and it was a fun day.