Trip Advise January Southern Africa/Botswana

Search

Search this Thread

Old Dec 12th, 2006, 11:12 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm hoping to get some advice on possible itineraries for a 7 day safari at the end of January. We will originate in Gabarone, Botswana since my partner is working there and I will be joining him. I've been to Serengeti, Ngorongoro, and Lake Manyara in Tanzania, but this is my first visit to Southern Africa. I am an avid photographer with a particular interest in bird photography so I will be bringing my photography equipment. On safari, I'm also obviously interested in all the other wildlife as well.

So I'm wondering where we would have the best experience at this time of year, considering the rainy season, and probable high temperatures in Botswana. I had initially thought we would spend time in Okavango delta and Chobe national park area. But I'm just wondering if I can get some feedback from you all.

Thanks!
Todd
Old Dec 12th, 2006, 11:19 AM
Original Poster

I forgot to mention that we will be spending 4 or 5 days in Cape Town before returning home so we will be in South Africa as well.

Thanks!
Old Dec 12th, 2006, 12:02 PM

The delta and Chobe have incredible games. Especially the elephant and hippo population. At Chobe you can watch the elephants swim across the river. We stayed at the Garden Lodge. The delta I've not been to, but my husband is South African and stayed there during his stint in the army and saw every kind of game.
Old Dec 12th, 2006, 03:25 PM

Received 17 Likes on 1 Post
Hi Todd. I hope others will help you pick a spot for a January safari. I haven't been during that time of year so all I can do is read trip reports here.

Here is a post about a trip in January.
http://www.fodors.com/forums/pgMessa...amp;searchText

Sharon (ShayTay) said 2006 was the wettest January in Botswana in 20 years. And PredatorBiologist said he had a tremendous safari in Jan03 so it's almost like tossing a coin.