Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Africa & the Middle East
Reload this Page >

Travelling to Kenya and other African countries???

Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 6th, 2008, 01:36 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi Guys,

I'm newbie here, my fiance and I are going to kenya on the first week of November (7th) from Sweden to Nairobi...then later on to the neighbouring countries. Is there any advice, especially in Kenya (I'm Filipina and experienced traveller) I used to do some travel research/writing) but don't know nothing as I never been to Africa; regarding safety and health issues, maybe guesthouses etc. that we should know beforehand?

Thanks in advance. Cheers!!!

Rose
Old Oct 6th, 2008, 02:03 PM

What kind of trip are you doing and what, if anything, do you already have booked in terms of accommodation, transport, activities, anything...?
Old Oct 6th, 2008, 06:27 PM

What the neighboring countries that interest you? Are you going to Uganda or Rwanda for gorillas?

Also, how long will you be gone and do you have a rough budget?
Old Oct 7th, 2008, 03:04 AM

Hi Rose - you need to be a bit more specific. Like are you travelling independently or with a tour?

For health same applies for either -the usual vaccinations apply - and don't drink the tap water. Take mozzie repellent if you are going to the coast.

I never had any problems with safety except it's true that you shouldn't wander around Nairobi on the streets at night. I travelled all round Uganda on public transport - no issues - had a ball!

But, yeh, just some early observations.

Cheers.
Old Oct 7th, 2008, 05:16 AM

Please provide more info such as:
- how long total days in Africa
- which countries
- areas in each country
- how plan to get from country-to-country
- traveling with a group or independently (own guide/vehicle)
- accommodations - have you booked or plan to just "drop-in"
- anything else that will garner replies to assist