Search

Traveling during conflict

Search this Thread

Old Feb 24th, 2008, 10:28 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Traveling during conflict

Hello

I’m a journalist with Plenty Magazine, and have been reading the Africa forums with interest.

I am wondering if any posters here follow through with, or even initiate, plans to destinations where disruption or conflict have arisen, such as Kenya, because they want to financially support an embattled tourism industry or feel their presence contributes to the protection of wildlife?

I ask because I’ve reported in Kenya in the past and enjoyed safaris in Botswana and South Africa. The financial significance of the tourism industry in many areas is of course great and concerns of poaching arise when fighting escalates. Just wondering how people view their role as travelers during times of conflict.

Thank you,

Victoria

www.vschlesinger.com
Old Feb 24th, 2008, 01:09 PM

I have a trip planned to Kenya in October.
My feeling on it is that if there will be an
overwhelming sense of lack of safety to tourists I will not go, despite the economic hardship that the locals may face unfortunately. But I will have to judge that more carefully closer to the time.
From the news reports I have read most of the violence is occurring in the slums. I live one hour from Detroit and while I go to the suburbs frequently I avoid the sketchy areas which are high crime. Therefore when I go to Kenya I will handle things similarly.
Old Feb 25th, 2008, 10:09 AM

hi