Tanzania photography advice

Jan 23rd, 2013, 04:48 PM
Original Poster

Tanzania photography advice

Hello, I'm travelling to Tanzania in July and was hoping to get some advice on camera gear. We'll be on safari for 8 nights in Serengeti, Ngoro Ngoro and Tarangire National Park.

Currently I have a Canon 60D with a 17-85mm lens. My plan is to purchase a 100-400 lens and probably hire a 500m f/4 if it's not too expensive. I want to bring a second body and what I'm trying to decide is whether to purchase a used 60D/7D body and resell after the trip. I'm a keen amateur photographer, but want to make the most of this trip and get the best pictures possible. Would anyone recommend upgrading my gear to 5D and 60D combo, or even hiring two 5D bodies? I could probably only afford 5D Mk1. I've heard I should spend more on lenses than bodes, but what do people think?

I'm touring in a pop-top landcruiser so, from what I've read, the best method of stabilisation is to use sandbags. Can anyone recommend what size/brand and how many? Is it best to buy empty bags and fill them in Arusha?

I was planning on using UV filters on all lenses. What do people think about using ND filters for sunrise/sunsets and polarisers for bright conditions. Oh, and which flash is recommended? I've been looking at a 580EXII, but if a cheaper model would suffice, I would consider that.

Finally (for now), the tripod debate...I like sunrise/sunset photos, but not that keen to carry a tripod. Thoughts?

Thanks all
Jan 23rd, 2013, 05:44 PM

I would suggest renting not buying a second body. A full frame body has far superior IQ to an APS-C and this would be the way to go. Check out lensrentals.com or another rental company (assuming you are in the US) for a 6D. The 500mm is an overkill (8.5 lb lens)- I would suggest the 70-200 2.8 II lens with a 1.4 and 2.0 TC instead. This with the 100-400 along with an APS-C and full frame bodies would be close to an ideal set-up without spending much more.