Taking an overnite train to Aswan

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 19th, 2008, 12:07 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

My tour includes an overnight train from Cairo to Aswan and I was curious what that will be like. What are the 'cabins' like? Are there bathrooms? Is there a dining car and what is the food like? I'm assuming it won't be like the bullet train from Paris to London.
Old Jan 19th, 2008, 12:58 AM

I never took the train, but here are a couple of threads that talk about the overnight train

http://tiny.cc/aMNqi

http://tiny.cc/ZLtcg

Oh - this is my first time using the tinyURL site.....so I hope this works
Old Jan 19th, 2008, 11:36 AM

we took an overnight train from cairo to luxor. we werent part of a tour, but just booked ourselves. We were in 1st class, but not sleeper. the highest class is sleeper, where you have bed. didn't see it, so can't comment. the 1st class are seats. it's 6 seats (3 together, facing another row of 3 with a table between) in a separate compartment. 1 bathroom per car. the seat recline some (and the actual seat slides out a little). they were comfy and i managed to get some decent sleep. dont' remember about a dining car - i'm sure there was, but i wouldn't eat on a train under any circumstances in egypt due to hygiene reasons. in any case, we left cairo at 11pm, got into luxor at 5am or so. easy, uneventful and peacful way to get to luxor. and super cheap - tickets were $10 each.
Old Jan 19th, 2008, 04:44 PM
Original Poster

Grcxx3 - thanks for the threads, I'll look into them.

lerasp - your experience is helpful.

I appreciate everyone's thoughts and help when I ask a question. You are all so helpful, thank you.

Old Jan 20th, 2008, 04:28 AM