Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Africa & the Middle East (https://www.fodors.com/community/africa-and-the-middle-east/)
-   -   Suggest Hotel at JNB airport (https://www.fodors.com/community/africa-and-the-middle-east/suggest-hotel-at-jnb-airport-847524/)

Jreinho Jul 1st, 2010 07:15 AM

Suggest Hotel at JNB airport
 
Family and I need a place to rest and clean up before our flight to Europe.
We will drop a rental car off at JNB airport and want somewhere that is clean, convenient etc and that can transfer us to airport before flight.

Any suggestions please?

Thanks

Elizabeth_S Jul 1st, 2010 07:40 AM

We had a long layover at JNB in March - stayed at this B&B about 10 minutes away. They pick you up and drop you off and are used to odd arrival/departure times. They have a large family suite and pool

http://www.africandreamsbnb.co.za/

They can also arrange dinner if you need it.

cary999 Jul 1st, 2010 07:44 AM

You want to spend overnight at hotel, yes? Or just rest for couple of hours?
The InterContinental Hotel is a very short easy walk across the street from JNB terminal but may be a bit expensive.

regards - tom

aowens Jul 1st, 2010 10:07 AM

Southern Sun OR Tambo - inexpensive with comp shuttle and can see from the airport. about a 3 minute drive.

spassvogel Jul 1st, 2010 12:09 PM

The Interconti is always our choice. Easy access, nice rooms, good restaurants and easy to store/collect spare luggage.

((@))

aowens Mar 27th, 2011 08:14 AM

Has anyone stayed at Peermont Metcourt lately??? I am looking at airport hotel for June. Southern Sun OR Tambo where we always stay is over 1400 ZAR for the night and the Peermont Metcourt is only 600 ZAR. I am just wondering if it is still ok?? As I recall, Tom, you used to stay there when it was the Metcourt Laurel (I think that was the old name) and I am just wondering if anyone has an updated report on it. It is sooooo cheap that it concerns me.

Thanks - Ann

cary999 Mar 27th, 2011 09:35 AM

Hi Ann, yes "Laurel" was the old name. No more.
They now confuse things, there are two "Metcourts", Metcourt and Metcourt Suites. http://www.emperorspalace.co.za/peer...mperors-hotels
I've stayed at both, last time in the Metcourt. It is new from about two years ago. It is the R600 one. The Metcourt Suites are over twice that cost. The Metcourt is a very basic small room with just a curtain for bathroom separation from bed area. The Suites are very nice and large, traditional. Both included a buffet breakfast, but Suites much better. Both free shuttle (same shuttle) from JNB and both very close to each other.

Even if the Suites were same $$$ as Southern Sun, I'd prefer Suites because of the dinning choice in Emperors Palace.

regards - tom

aowens Mar 27th, 2011 10:05 AM

Thanks for the info Tom!! I am a fan of the Southern Sun - so will probably go with that as I am NOT a fan of the Peermont properties. Also - sounds like the Metcourt may be a bit basic for us - but appreciate the update.

ShayTay Mar 27th, 2011 01:14 PM

I stayed at the Metcourt last year and it was fine. You do get a choice of dining at the Emperor's Palace complex. However, you might consider the new City Lodge, which is right in the airport. I toured the hotel and saw the rooms and they looked fine to me. You can easily walk there from the terminal (it's on top of one of their parking garages.) They have a coffee shop in-house, but you could also walk back to the terminal and eat at the restaurants there or at the Intercontinental next door. They also have a pool and a gym onsite.

aowens Mar 27th, 2011 01:19 PM

ShayTay - I remember you writing about this before. Thanks for the reminder!! The price is just about the same as the Sun. I will keep and eye on them both and see if one lowers the price over the next couple of months. Thanks ShayTay for the suggestion!

mytmoss Mar 27th, 2011 10:17 PM

A friend turned me on to a hotel right at the airport, no shuttle necessary. The price is 1/3 the Interconental. Its not as nice of course, but it looks OK and the location is perfect. I have not stayed there yet, but I am considering it now.

https://www.citylodge.co.za/cl13.php

Mike

ShayTay Mar 28th, 2011 06:14 AM

Yep, Mike, that's the one! I think it would be nice not to have to fool with shuttles, just walk to your hotel. Follow the signs in the terminal that say "Hotels". Eventually, they will point to the two different hotels, City Lodge and Interncontinental. You'll follow the signs through the Parkade, ending up at an elevator that takes you up to the hotel... very easy There are a variety of dining options "curbside" in the terminal, if you don't want to eat at their coffee shop.

mytmoss Mar 28th, 2011 06:43 AM

Thanks ShayTay, that is very helpful. The one thing I noticed is that they make you pay at the time of booking. I could not find a refund policy listed, but given the price, its still a good idea.

Mike

Celia Mar 28th, 2011 07:54 AM

I've stayed at City Lodges in Jo'burg, Durban, and Nelspruit -- they're good, basic hotels. This one in the airport looks good, from the pictures on the web site. I like the idea of walking right to the hotel. If I need to overnight at JNB, I'll definitely consider this. Thanks for the info, guys.

ovenbird Mar 28th, 2011 11:20 AM

Not wanting to hassle with shuttles, I just booked one night at the City Lodge at OR Tambo. The confirmation has 3 pages of fine print (had to get out the magnifying glass!), which I think is relevant to all City Lodge facilities.

Bottom line is, and I quote:

"Should you cancel your reservation within a two week period of your expected arrival date you will not be refunded.

Should you cancel your reservation more than two weeks before your expected arrival date you will be refunded by the hotel within 7 days. Please ensure you email all required details to the respective hotel."

If you're a glutton for punishment and would like to see more of the fine print, I'd be willing to post it here!

Marsha

cary999 Mar 28th, 2011 11:50 AM

No, but would be interested in the rate, no one has mentioned that. Which is just about always my first question!!!

regards - tom

Celia Mar 28th, 2011 12:10 PM

I checked the web site mentioned above, and the rate is about R1400 for a double room if you reserve on line, more if you walk in. Seems a little high to me, but maybe the airport location is the reason.

cary999 Mar 28th, 2011 12:24 PM

R1400 is $200. (6.9R to $ today)
Same price as Southern Sun and Metcourt Suites, I think. Agree a bit high, disappointed, was hoping for $100+ range.

regards - tom

ovenbird Mar 28th, 2011 02:59 PM

tom, I suspect hotels located inside airports are usually higher priced due to the convenience factor. FYI, the Hilton at Heathrow is about $240 for 2 twin beds, and the Hilton at O'Hare is $280 for 2 doubles (prices include taxes and fees). So, $200 for City Lodge doesn't sound too bad. Of course, it would sound better at $100+!

Marsha

mytmoss Mar 28th, 2011 07:34 PM

I am traveling in July. The room rate is R1094 at the moment, closer to $150.

Mike


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:24 AM.