SMARTOURS?

Jan 24th, 2004, 03:59 PM
Original Poster

SMARTOURS?

Is anyone traveled to South Africa with Smartours? They offer a 11 night tour of South Africa starting at Capetown, a bit of the garden route, Zululand, Swaziland, a couple of nights by Kruger National Park, international airfare from Atlanta, internal transportation and including flights for less than $3000. per person. I am interested in viewing wildlife but not for the entire trip. This sounds like a good combination but maybe a little light on the wildlife viewing. They offer an additional 2 nights in Victoria Falls for 799. per person including flights. I have never traveled to Southern Africa and I am a complete novice.. Does them sound like a good value? It includes 21 meals, superior class hotels with private baths, all admission fees etc. etc.
Jan 24th, 2004, 04:48 PM

I don't know, Pooky. This is a tough one for me to answer. By clicking on your name and viewing other messages you've posted at Fodors, I see you've been to South America. Did you go there on a guided tour? You sounded very positive about your South American trip, so whatever arrangements you made for it must have suited your tastes well.

The SmarTours itinerary you've outlined is too fast paced for my taste. If I had 11 days, I'd prefer to go to one South African city and one game reserve for wildlife viewing.

Provided it was a time of year in which Cape Town's weather was likely to be good, Cape Town would be my preferred city. If it was the wrong time of year for Cape Town (certainly June - August, perhaps even May - September), I would go to Durban instead.

Although there are a number of areas of South Africa that offer good wildlife viewing opportunities, if I had time for only one area it would be Mpumalanga, either the Kruger National Park or one of the nearby private game reserves, depending on the budget I had to work with.