Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Africa & the Middle East (https://www.fodors.com/community/africa-and-the-middle-east/)
-   -   Safari Tour Operators (https://www.fodors.com/community/africa-and-the-middle-east/safari-tour-operators-662187/)

lenlu Dec 3rd, 2006 12:26 PM

Safari Tour Operators

Hi,
I'm just beginning my research but I'm finding endless tour companies from Ker and Downey, A & K on down. I'd like something less extravagant, keeping a ten day safari in the $4-6,000 per person price range without air. But I want a safe, reputable company with flexibility. Anyone have any suggestions? Also, Kenya or Tanzania for landscape, people and the big five? Thanks!

atravelynn Dec 3rd, 2006 02:24 PM

Kenya or Tanzania? The biggest factor in deciding between the two is what time of year you wish to go.

Both have beautiful landscapes. People are friendly in both countries. By picking your parks carefully I believe you can slightly increase your Big 5 chances in Kenya, but luck plays a role too.

Here is a link to the best time of year to view wildlife in different parks, which is also the most expensive time and with the most visitors.

http://www.africa-adventure.com/dsp_besttime.html

You can certainly do better than the A&K prices with as good or probably better safari, even a private one.

Here are some companies that have been used succcessfully by Fodorites for Kenya and Tanzania. You can type these names in the search box or google them.

Africa Adventure
Africa Serendipty
ATR Africa Travel Resource
Eastern & Southern Safaris
Gamewatchers
Good Earth
Roys
Southern Cross Safaris
Thomsons (just Tanzania)

Finally, here is a link to an East Africa trip report index where you can read about many Kenya-Tanzania trips to get ideas.

Please post as your ideas narrow and your itinerary develops.

atravelynn Dec 3rd, 2006 02:26 PM

...and that index link is here