Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Africa & the Middle East
Reload this Page >

HELP Left luggage in Johannnesburg airport, what to do?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Sep 29th, 2004, 08:26 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am travelling on a tour of South Africa. my internation flight arrives in Johannesburg and departs from Cape Town. Before I join the tour I would like to go to Victoria Falls (Zambia) and Chobe (Botswana). The tour I have chosen for Victoria Falls and Botswana has a luggage restriction of 15 kgs per person. I will have more luggage than this. I am would like to know if the airport at Johannesburg has left luggage? Is it safe to use this service? I have never done this before. I will need to leave my luggage in Johannesburg for one week while I am Victoria Falls and Chobe. Any tips/advise/info would be appreciated. Thank you.
Old Sep 29th, 2004, 10:28 PM

From the website, www.acsa.co.za/home.asp?pid=516

"Facilities for storing luggage are available on the upper level of the underground parkade, just off the main lift lobby (four large lifts, Terminal A2, international arrivals area). You may leave any baggage for any sort of period at a cost of R32.00 per day per bag, no matter the weight or size."

Old Sep 30th, 2004, 12:40 AM

This facility is very easy to use and I have not had a problem with it, using it each of the last three years.

I would advise you to hold onto your bags and not let an aggressive airport porter help you with your bags. Basically, if you are waiting for the elevator to go down to the left luggage facility, an airport porter is likely to offer you help, grab your luggage, and before you know it, he is on his way down the escalator, and for the 30 second trip, he expects about 10 Rand! It all happens in the blink of an eye and it is REALLY ANNOYING.
Old Oct 2nd, 2004, 01:24 PM