Planning first trip to KenyaThanksgiving 2006

Apr 1st, 2006, 12:31 PM
Original Poster

Planning first trip to KenyaThanksgiving 2006

Im pretty new to using a forum so bare with me. I found this site last weekend and have found it to be a wealth of information and a little addicting. I have read almost every report in the east Africa index and some of them numerous times. Plus all the pictures are wonderful, it is really nice to see what these places really look like compared to what you think they may look like after seeing their website or reading about them in a book.

I have to thank Patty again for all her help so far as I took a baby step with posting and posted on her thread a few times. But I realize its time to start my own.

My husband and are planning 3 weeks in Kenya, leaving on Thanksgiving Day. What got the travel ball rolling for us is his sister was transferred to Nairobi last August. Its taken her a bit to get used to the change (had been living in Rio for past 12 years) and the internet access is not as good so we havent been able to communicate as much as I would like to plan this trip. Plus she has a job to do, a husband and a 10-year-old son.

We are planning to leave from San Diego Thanksgiving Day, which will get us to Nairobi Friday night. I know well need the weekend to get over the jet lag and spend time with the family. Then we will do some traveling on our own and some together. The first week my husband and I will head to the Mara for 2 -3 nights. have been debating flying or driving. They have a 4 wheel drive vehicle that we may be able to use. From here out Im still in the very basic planning stages as Im waiting to hear back from my sister in law as to what time off she can get and what traveling they can do with us. We have til Dec 14.

Other places on my list our
Ambesloi
Lewa
Abedare
Sumbura