African Safari - should I use 400 or 800 speed film?

Old Sep 5th, 2002, 12:53 PM
KJS

African Safari - should I use 400 or 800 speed film?

In a few weeks we'll be traveling to Botswana, Zimbabwe, Zambia, and S. Africa for safari.
I am not a professional photographer, but have borrowed a friend's Cannon Rebel 2000 with a new Sigma 28-300 lens.
I have read several posts on here regarding film and it seems that the recommendation is for Fuji Superia X-tra.
My question is 400 or 800 speed? I was originally planning on all 400 speed, but Fuji's website makes it sound like their new 800 speed is "the best all around"...

Any feedback here would be greatly appreciated.

Also, safari is 18 days... how many 24 exp. rolls should I plan on taking?

Thanks!

Old Sep 5th, 2002, 03:29 PM
evelyntrav

We used Fuji's 400 speed and were very pleased with the results, even the 8x12 enlargements. There is some concern about xray damage to 800 speed and the screeners will not hand check film. Our trip was for 21 days (14 on the safari) and we used 26 rolls of film and we were very liberal in our use. Also, you will need a UV filter and a lens hood. Since it took me a bit of time to get the lens cover on and off, I often used my glove to prevent dust damage.

Old Sep 5th, 2002, 04:34 PM
lynn

Another vote for 400 film. I used this on a recent trip (and I am also a non-professional photographer), and was also pleased with the results, with conditions that consisted of sunshine, a low morning mist, cloudy days and early evening. Film went through security scanners at least 5x without damage.

Old Sep 5th, 2002, 04:37 PM
lynn

Also, bring more film than you think you will need. I was amazed by how many pictures I ended up taking of the same thing secondary to 1) not realizing how many I was taking in my excitement, and 2) taking a shot, and then the animal posing better, taking a shot, and then the animal posing even better,and so on...

Old Sep 5th, 2002, 08:12 PM
Lynda

Hi: