Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Africa & the Middle East
Reload this Page >

must you book africa w/ a company, is it possible to do f.i.t.?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 30th, 2004, 05:10 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

hello-

new here but getting the sense that one doesn't just book africa on one's own, but does so "through" a company...is this the case?

is it that each game lodge is affiliated with a company and thus, you must join the tour to get the lodging, or can you book your own as a f.i.t.?

apologies as i am brand new at africa. thanks!
Old Aug 30th, 2004, 05:19 PM

kerikeri,

While most game lodges prefer that you go through an agent, some will accept direct bookings. The only problem with that is that you will likely be asked to make wire transfers into their accounts, and not that you are in danger of getting ripped off or anything, but it is somewhat burdensome.

You just need to contact each individual lodge and ask for a quote and ask if they accept direct bookings, and if so, if there are any cost benefits to giving them a direct booking. Otherwise, if there is no cost benefit, why bother?

You should really do a lot of homework, decide where you would like to visit and just start contacting lodges, but also contact a couple agents to see how you are performing next to the agent.

Good luck.
Old Aug 30th, 2004, 08:11 PM
Original Poster

ok.

thanks for that!
Old Aug 31st, 2004, 03:09 AM
sandi

And you have to decide where you wish to visit in Africa - a big continent. There's Egypt in the North; Morocco in the N.West; Kenya, Tanzania & Uganda in E.Africa; and Southern Africa includes South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Zambia, Namibia.

You can worth with tour operators in your home country, or in-country from the area you wish to travel, or yourself - but must do a comparison for prices, transfers, etc. And, of course, your budget has to be considered.