Craig & Jeane Visit South Africa Feb 2016

Search

Search this Thread

Old Feb 24th, 2016, 01:35 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Jeane and I are a late 50’s - early 60’s couple from the Hartford, CT area in the US. I have been posting on Fodor’s since 2000 and if you click on my name you can bring up previous reports on our 2 to 2-1/2 week trips, which have focused mainly on Asia. Having almost exhausted the possibilities there, we have started to branch out and explore other places. We had heard great things about South Africa. So after our trip to Australia and Bali in the fall of 2014, Jeane and I decided that a trip to Cape Town, the Winelands, the Garden Route and a safari at a southern private reserve would be a perfect respite from the cold New England winter in 2016.

We generally begin our planning about a year in advance of a trip, first by redeeming frequent flyer miles for our flights. Our loyalty for many years has been to United and the Star Alliance airlines. After a careful search, I found that our best options for business class seats were United and South African Airways flights from Hartford to Cape Town via Washington Dulles and Johannesburg and from Port Elizabeth to Hartford via Johannesburg and Washington Dulles. We are fortunate in that we are able to charge all of our personal and business expenses to rapidly accumulate miles with our United Mileage Plus credit cards.

With the flights in place, I next had to map out a suitable itinerary. Since we didn’t want to move around a lot and didn’t want to do any internal flights we settled on 4 destinations, all in the south: 4 nights in Cape Town, 2 nights in the Winelands at Franschhoek, 3 nights along the Garden Route in Knysna and 3 nights on safari at Shamwari Private Reserve. We would rent a car in Cape Town on our last day there and drop it off in Port Elizabeth after our safari. Now that the basic itinerary has been laid out, I am ready to start my trip report.