Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Africa & the Middle East (https://www.fodors.com/community/africa-and-the-middle-east/)
-   -   Need Advice on SA Safari! (https://www.fodors.com/community/africa-and-the-middle-east/need-advice-on-sa-safari-509559/)

tkblizard Mar 5th, 2005 11:17 AM

Need Advice on SA Safari!

Hi All -

I was delighted to find a forum with so many experienced travelers. I would love your advice - I am going to a week-long conference outside of Cape Town (Stellenbosch) the third week of June. I would like to stay an additional few days and do a safari. I have found CCAfrica online and was quite keen on their walking safaris (I'm a biologist and love to camp!). They offer one in Phinda and one in Ngala (Kruger) and I can't decide which area to visit. I hope to come back many times in the future and for longer stays. Do you all have any good/bad experiences with CCAfrica? Are there any other companies, short-term safaris you can suggest? Being a biologist, I am on a bit of a budget, and furthermore will probably be traveling alone on this trip. Thanks for any advice you can give!!!

Tracey

Liz_Frazier Mar 5th, 2005 11:40 AM

Last year two people posted here that they took CC Africa trips to Botswana. Both sounded very pleased with the product.
If you do a search using the search box above, you can get some information. I tried it once by putting in CC Africa and checking South Africa and once by putting in CC Africa and leaving the country blank. Both provided previous discussions on the subject. Good luck. I haven't personally used CC Africa, but I sure do think they have some very lovely looking camps. I wouldn't hesitate to use them. Liz

Roccco Mar 5th, 2005 02:11 PM

tkblizard,

Here are more choices from CCAfrica that are buried a little deeper in their website and not so easily found:

"Pioneer" Safaris:

http://www.ccafrica.com/expeditions/pioneer-1-type-2-2