Reload this Page >

Garden Route Game Lodge in SA

Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 23rd, 2002, 04:48 AM
afr

Has anyone been to the Garden Route Game Lodge? Any comments? How are the rooms, meals, etc. I know this doesn't compare to the lodges near Kruger, but for the price and convenience to the Garden Route looks good. Would appreciate any info. Thanks

Old Aug 26th, 2002, 08:45 AM
c

I would also be interested in hearing about this ?? Or Buffalo Hills

Old Aug 27th, 2002, 01:35 PM
Selwyn Davidowitz

Garden Route Game Lodge is a lodge to give a wide berth too no matter how cheap it is. It is an absolute waste of time. When I visited the lodge as a professional tour operator I asked the highly inexperienced game ranger whether this was a game lodge or Noah's ark in that when it came to seeing the big species of animals we only found 2 of each, that is if we found them because we never saw the elephant , leopard or buffalo that the management claimed they had on the farm. The lions were fenced into a lion camp. Yuch! Not only did I find the rangers to be inexperienced I also found them to be gung ho. The proof of the pudding is in the eating when I have to mention that in the evening 22 people went on the night game drive and we were all offered the opportunity to go on the morning game drive the next morning. Well 2 people out of 22 turned up for the morning drive. Enough said about the game drives.<BR><BR>The food and accommodation at the Lodge was pretty average and certainly not on the top 50 list of game farms.<BR><BR>Buffalo Hills is trying but is not there as yet when it comes to being a game farm, however I would recommend the farm above Garden Route Game Lodge. The game drive is a very average event at Buffalo Hills. There are however fabulous walks that one can do at Buffalo Hills and believe it or not Buffalo Hills's best attraction is its mampoer (moonshine) distillery. Incredible to say the least.<BR><BR>All in all when it comes to game viewing on t