Leaving from Italy to Egypt for winter break

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 11th, 2006, 03:42 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

anyone have any suggestions on the best-most economical way to get to egypt from Italy? I'm a student who has break coming up in February, am traveling with maybe 1-2 other girls and we want to make the most of my time so if it's only a little difference in price I'd prefer to fly. We're toying with the idea of stopping in Greece. Feasible at all?
Old Jan 11th, 2006, 03:47 PM

Hello,

Take a look in Alitalia's website. They have very reasonably-priced tickets direct from Milan or Rome to Cairo. I'm flying with them from London (via Milan) in March and the ticket cost me about £149 -- given how overpriced everything is in the UK, it should be much cheaper from Italy.

Cheers,
Julian
Old Jan 12th, 2006, 04:02 AM
Original Poster

thanks Julian are you going through a tour group or just doing it on your own? do you have hotels booked yet?
Old Jan 12th, 2006, 03:37 PM

Hello,

I'm booking some things independently and some things through an agent in the US. I've never done an organised tour and I don't think I ever will -- the idea brings back too many memories of school trips being herded from place to place.

I haven't booked my hotels yet, but I'm leaning towards the Al-Moudira in Luxor and probably the Mena House Oberoi or the Four Seasons on Cairo. Normally I prefer smaller boutique hotels or guesthouses to large luxury hotels, but I have asthma and none of the smaller places could guarantee me a room on a non-smoking floor.

Try for a midweek departure to get the best prices on your flights -- and make sure you get an ISIC card, as students with an ISIC get 50% off on the admission prices for many of the historic monuments, which can save you a lot of money.

Cheers,
Julian
Old Jan 12th, 2006, 10:38 PM