Kruger Budget Safari options

Old Apr 30th, 2008, 08:45 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Kruger Budget Safari options

My dear friend and I (both female-me:47 yo travels alot, 1st trip to Africa DF-64 yo, travels seldom but is adventurous) are heading to Southern Africa in September for 3 weeks.

The first 2 weeks we will be in the company of her daughter, 25yo Peace Corps worker. DFD will drag us thru Cape Town area, Mozambique and Tanzania). We will then go to Johannasburg ourselves for 1 week before returning home.

Our goal for JMB is a Kruger Safari. We are on a limited budget.

I have looked at JourneyintoAfrica.com who offer a 5 day budget Kruger safari with round trip bus transport from JNB, lodging at Tremisana Game Lodge-Balule Game Reserve for 6295R. It looks really nice.

As recommended on this board I am also looking at Go2Africa.com and they offer 4 day overland "Camping experience" for 3250R. I have no idea what "Camping Experience" means.

Does anyone have any direct experience with either outfit or can you recommend another outfit in the price range of $700.00 or less per person for 4-5 days. We have decided not to do this ourselves.

Another question, I notice the high end packages include flight from JNB to Krueger. How long a drive is it? I imagine it is scenic but is it worth it to fly? we will have been all over Mozambique using public transport (peace corp kids are notoriously broke, so DFD knows all the angles for travelling on nothing) and will be used to long bus trips.

Thanks for any and all ideas.

Lynnie
Old Apr 30th, 2008, 02:43 PM
Original Poster

Anyone?
Old Apr 30th, 2008, 03:07 PM

I think the lack of reaction may be due, in part, to the fact that Kruger is designed primarily for self-drive visitors and you have ruled out the self-drive option. I visited in a 2WD rental car and it could not have been simpler -- I would have enjoyed the park much less if I was restricted to a tour.