Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Africa & the Middle East
Reload this Page >

Kenya/Tanzania safari for solo female traveler (Jan 2010)

Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 23rd, 2009, 05:33 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm considering a 10-14 day safari in Tanzania and/or Kenya in January 2010. I'd appreciate recommendations for a reasonably priced safari company that might be a good option for a 30-something woman traveling alone. I'm a biologist, and would prefer an animal (and ideally primate) heavy safari. Thanks!
Old Oct 23rd, 2009, 06:30 PM

Primates makes me think of Uganda or Rwanda for gorillas and/or chimps. In fact I just went on a primate safari in those 2 countries.

But Mahale in Southern Tanzania is one of the best places for chimps.

With 10-14 days, you may want to go to just one country, either Kenya or Tanzania. But it would not be hard to tack on about 3 nights in Rwanda for gorillas. You mention "reasonably priced" so I'll mention gorilla permits are $500 for one hour of viewing.

If you are sticking to solely Tanzania, I'd do this:
2 Arusha
1st nt arrival, and then a day or half day in Arusha Nat. Park looking for black and white colobus monkeys along with other animals. You may need another night there in transfer enroute to Mahale in Southern Tanzania, where the chimps are.

1-2 Lake Manyara
The baboon action is great here and it is one of the few places that blue (or black, depending on the term used) monkeys are easily seen. Plus it is a good place for eles this time of year and the hippo pool is tops.

1 Ngorongoro Crater
A spectacle! This is one place to try to avoid the primates during lunch. The vervets try to take your food because unfortunately they have been fed in the past

3 Ndutu--The Southern part of the Serengeti
In January, this is where the bulk of the migration usually is. Not sure what the availability is at this date.