Search

South Africa or Botswana?

Search this Thread

Old Oct 14th, 2003, 11:53 AM
wj1
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
South Africa or Botswana?

Hi everyone. I'm just beginning to think about next year's vacation and I need some suggestions about which country to visit. At this point, we're thinking of going to either South Africa or Botswana (and if it worked out, Namibia).

Let me give you some info and see if that helps all you experts come up with an opinion.

First off, we'll be two middle-aged but young at heart couples going. (Other friends may join us, but that will be after we decide what we want to do.) I am the only one who has been to Africa before--Kenya on a Micato tour about 7 years ago. I got the Africa bug too, but life got in the way and I'm only able to get back there now.

We'll have only 14-16 days to spend there including flying from Los Angeles. I would really like the others to go on Big Game drives since they've never been on one. I'm still not sure of budget but am guessing about $6500pp including internal airfare.

I've ruled out Kenya since I've already been there. We were thinking of South Africa but I have some concerns and were wondering if they are valid. My concern is that maybe there are parts of South Africa that are similar to California. For example, why would we really want to spend so much money and fly so far away to go to wineries, see coastline etc.? Is this a valid concern? We're also not really interested in birding but would like to try maybe a game drive on a boat or on foot (not a lot, just to vary the game drive routine). We would also enjoy see some tribal villages. If we did go to South Africa, we would be interested in seeing a township and Robbin Island. If one couple had to leave after 14 days, the other couple might be interested in tacking on a visit to Victoria Falls. We will not want to rent a car. My guess is that this trip will probably take place next October or November.