Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Africa & the Middle East (https://www.fodors.com/community/africa-and-the-middle-east/)
-   -   June or July for Tanzania (https://www.fodors.com/community/africa-and-the-middle-east/june-or-july-for-tanzania-589272/)

solitaire11 Feb 8th, 2006 06:52 AM

June or July for Tanzania

Hi folks,

I was initially planning on travelling betn July 1st and July 15th to Tanzania ..and have all the details worked out (iternary, safari operator, flights) ..however now due to some scheduling conflicts with my husband .. I might have to change the trip date!

Here are my two options:

Option 1: July 16 to July 29
Option 2: May 27 to June 10

With Option 2, I save $1,000 on airline tickets ..and I am favoring it. But I would
like your advice on the weather, migration etc.

Thanks in advance!
solitaire

jasher Feb 8th, 2006 08:05 AM

Hello,

I'm not an expert, but June is probably better for Tanzania -- in July (particularly towards the end of July) it is possible that the bulk of the Migration will be moving/have moved to the Mara in Kenya. If you do go in July, you probably want to concentrate on camps in the northern Serengeti for that part of your trip.

Cheers,
Julian

rsnyder Feb 8th, 2006 02:14 PM

Hello solitaire11, better time might also depend on southern or northern Tanzania. If southern areas then the July dates might work out better as in the Mikumi and Ruaha NP game will be more concentrated where there is water than in say June according to what our guides told us last year.