Extended trip to Zambia - help with itinerary

Old Mar 27th, 2006, 07:43 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Extended trip to Zambia - help with itinerary

Hi. I am an MBA student going on a "school trip" to South Africa, Zambia, and Botswana in mid may of this year. 3 of us are extending our trip for a week and remaining behind in Zambia. We are trying to figure out what we should do, and I was hoping that the Fodors readers would know of some great hidden gems. We want to rent a car and drive to whatever we are going to do.

My one friend is really excited about driving to Angola - is that a safe place to visit (this is for 2 women and 1 man)? What about Zimbabwe? Any really interested villages, parks, or anything else that we should try to hit for that last week?

Thanks in advance for your help - I am very excited for this trip and want to get the most out of it that I can.

Liz
Old Mar 27th, 2006, 08:04 AM

Are you renting a 4x4?
And you can forget about Angola. That is difficult driving(roads) and I don't think you will find an agency to
rent you a vehicle.
Where are starting your week extension from?
Old Mar 27th, 2006, 08:22 AM
Original Poster

We are starting in Zambia - I can't remember the name, but it is the place on the border with botswana - you can walk across apparently - overlooking Victoria Falls.

Thanks!
Old Mar 27th, 2006, 08:37 AM

Car? 4x4?

Starting in Livingstone, I presume.
Old Mar 27th, 2006, 01:11 PM
Original Poster

Yes, we are starting in Livingston. we have not rented anything - it is probably the most "last minute" trip I've ever taken. I usually plan my trips months in advance, so I'd love to put a bit more structure to this trip if possible. We would like to rent a 4x4, and if we do, where should we go?
Old Mar 27th, 2006, 02:20 PM