Search

Independant travelers honeymooning for 21 days in Egypt

Search this Thread

Old Jan 13th, 2008, 06:08 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Independant travelers honeymooning for 21 days in Egypt

Hi there!

Well, we finally decided on Egypt for our honeymoon! I am so excited - this is a dream honeymoon for me - I am an art history professor.

I've read some amazing posts here, and would love some suggestions.

We are flying into Cairo 6/15/08 and leaving to come back to the US 7/6/08.

First of all, are we nuts for going to Egypt in June? Will we fry?

* Snorkeling is a must (from the shore would be great if possible)
* As I mentioned in the title, we are independent travelers and prefer to stay at smaller properties and avoid crowds when possible - we like "authentic" experiences.
* Abu Simbel is a must.
* What about renting a car in Egypt?

Basically, I would love to hear how you think we should spend the 21 days...we definitely want to do some exploring, but we don't want to be constantly on the go. So, what are the "must sees?"

Anyone have any unknown gems as far as hotels/restaurants/towns, etc.?

Thanks a ton!
Old Jan 13th, 2008, 07:41 PM

Congratulations on your upcoming wedding! I know others will post with some wonderful suggestions, but let me throw out a few....

1. Yes, you will be VERY hot in June/July. But you can work with it. Plan your tours in the mornings and plan inside things (or relaxing at your hotel or a the pool) in the afternoons. Evenings will be warm, but comfortable. Dress appropriately (hat, sunglasses, light weight clothing, sunscreen).

2. Snorkling can easily be done from the shore at both Hurghada and Sharm el Sheikh. El Gouna (just north of Hurghada) is also quite nice. Can't give you any more details....I hate to get my face wet, so snorkeling isn't my thing!