how to not get sick on safari

Old Jan 2nd, 2016, 09:23 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
how to not get sick on safari

so we have finally booked our july 2017 kenyan family safari. saw friends last night and they said it is almost impossible not to get sick from water issues. i know we will brush our teeth with bottled water but they said water gets in your mouth during showers etc.

any words of advice?
Old Jan 2nd, 2016, 09:37 AM

What safari lodges did your friends go to? Where are you going?

Although I did not have time to comment, I noticed your various posts when you were planning your trip. The lodges you were consider are all sanitary places and the water will be fine. They will tell you the protocol when you arrive at each lodge on if/if-not to drink the water, use bottles, etc.

I think the bigger issue is that your stomach does not have, on arrival, the enzymes to fully handle the slightly different foods you eat in Africa. I am an engineer not a doctor so enzyme might be the wrong word but I am talking about the bacteria in your stomach that breaks down food. A lettuce leaf in the US is not the same as one in Kenya. Your stomach takes a few days to adjust and you may have minor issues during this period. One thing you can do is switch to a more organic and plant based diet before leaving the US and get off the processed foods and junk foods. This might make the adjustment easier.

In general, I think the food in Africa holds a much higher level nutrients. My hair and nails always grow MUCH faster in Africa.

If you are staying in dodgy hotels, perhaps stick to meat, rice and potatoes but you did not mention any on your other posts.

Craig Beal - owner - Travel Beyond
Old Jan 2nd, 2016, 01:53 PM
Original Poster

Craig, that makes me feel much better. Our friends went on a very high end Kenya Tanzania safari but about 15 years ago. They made it sound like Mexico-don't eat fruit or veggies that were washed in water etc.