Help With Egypt Itinerary

Old Aug 17th, 2009, 02:29 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help With Egypt Itinerary

Hello Fodorites! I am new to the Africa and Middle East Forum but have long used the Europe Forum to plan numerous trips over the last several years. I am currently planning a trip to Egypt this December and am utilizing Ahmed Hamed Yousif, a guide that has been recommended many times on this forum. Ahmed has been extremely thorough and responsive and has been able to pull together two potential itineraries for us very quickly. We have been very pleased with his services thus far and are extremely pleased with the hotels/cruise boat he has selected for us.

So, I was hoping the Egypt Experts on this forum could take a look at the proposed itineraries and answer a couple of questions for me. This is a once-in-a-lifetime trip for us, so we want to maximize our time there. We are active, fit travelers who will be traveling in the winter during the cooler weather -- but we don't want to be too rushed!

Itinerary 1:

Day 1 - Arrive in Cairo late afternoon
Day 2 - Cairo
Day 3 - Cairo
Day 4 - Day trip to Alexandria
Day 5 - Leave Cairo, fly to Aswan
Day 6 - Early morning trip to Abu Simbel, board Nile Cruiser
Days 6 - 10 - Four-night Cruise
Day 10 - Leave Cruiser, tour Luxor, overnight in Luxor
Day 11 - Return to Cairo
Day 12 - Free day in Cairo, leave at 8:00 pm for airport

Itinerary 2:
Days 1-3: Cairo (two full days after arrival)
Day 4 - Fly to Aswan
Day 5 Aswan to Abu Simbel, overnight in Abu Simbel
Day 6 Return to Aswan from Abu Simbel, board boat
Days 6-10 - Cruise
Day 10 - Abydos/Dendera
Day 11 - Tour Karnak/Luxor, return to Cairo in the evening
Day 12 - Day trip to Alexandria and straight back to airport for departure