Gift suggestions for friends in Cape Town

Aug 7th, 2005, 10:20 AM
Original Poster

Gift suggestions for friends in Cape Town

When I was in Prague, I met a couple who live in Cape Town. Long story short, they have invited me to dine in their home and sample local wines when I am in Cape Town in a few weeks. Any suggestions on a suitable hostess gift? I am not very good at this sort of thing. Would something from the my home country (US) be appropriate or should I pick up something local once I am there?
Aug 7th, 2005, 10:53 AM

I think something from the US would be a much more thoughtful gift.

Where in the US are you from - I would suggest something related to that region - for example maple candy from Vermont etc.
Aug 7th, 2005, 11:12 AM
Original Poster

I am currently from Ohio (near Amish country) but not a native of Ohio. I am originally from farm country in Illinois, and prior to moving to Ohio, was in Chicago for 15 years. I would like to think of something suitable yet unique. Any ideas are appreciated. Thanks!
Aug 7th, 2005, 11:46 AM

Hmmm... that's a toughie - tomato juice isn't a really exciting gift!

Foodie/ drink gifts are always nice because they don't take space up in the home, you don't have to worry so much about the host's tastes either as somebody in the family will hopefully like the item and it's quickly consumed and they can be a talking point in terms of traditions from both places.

Are there any other traditional consumable items from Ohio that would be readily transportable?

If not, how about a coffee table photo book about your state or area?
Aug 7th, 2005, 01:45 PM