first timer on safari and solo traveler

Aug 20th, 2004, 11:25 AM
Original Poster

first timer on safari and solo traveler

I was hoping to get advice on going to Africa on Safari. I will be traveling alone. Looking to travel in October or November. I am also an amateur photgrapher. I dont need to stay in 5 star hotels either. Not sure of the best location for those months of the year.
Aug 20th, 2004, 02:10 PM
sandi

mariapxcm - Africa is a big continent. Where were you thinking to take your safari? Some choices are East Africa (Kenya or Tanzania) or Southern Africa (South Africa, Botswana, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Namibia). Do you want to travel solely on your own or with a small group of other travelers? In the southern hemisphere you'll be in the Spring time and by November can be quite warm. In the eastern countries, weather is relatively mild (practically year-round), with cool nights.

So if you'd give us an idea of the area you'd like to visit, whether completely solo, or with a group and your budget, we can come up with some suggestions.

Aug 20th, 2004, 04:49 PM
Original Poster

well my choice would probably tanzania/kenya but not sure if this is a good time of the year to visit. I would love to travel with a group my budget would be around. I have enough miles to get to africa so my budget would be up to 4k but can be flexible I also have flexibility with the vaction length. I guess what I am looking for is good experience more than enaything else. I would love to be able to have the time to take great pictures. Thanks Sandi
Aug 21st, 2004, 01:45 AM

Hi,I am also going to Africa this coming Octotber, but I have a specific itinerary, I am going to S.Africa,and maybe Mozambique and Botswana. One good source for accomodation and places to eat is of course Fodors and Lonely planet.

Enjoy
Aug 21st, 2004, 05:23 AM
sandi