Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Africa & the Middle East (https://www.fodors.com/community/africa-and-the-middle-east/)
-   -   First Time to Africa (https://www.fodors.com/community/africa-and-the-middle-east/first-time-to-africa-737762/)

AlexisK Sep 20th, 2007 11:27 AM

First Time to Africa

Hi everyone! I'm the editor of the South Africa book, as well as our new Safari guide which will be out in 2008. I'm traveling to Tanzania on Sept 29 for a week. This is my first time to Africa and I'm really looking forward seeing the places we're including in the new book. I'm really looking forward to exploring Dar Es Salaam and Zanzibar, though I know the safaris will be the highlight. I've included my itinerary in the hopes that you can give me some tips on must dos and be awares while I'm over there. I look forward to hearing from you and reporting back on my trip.

Sept 30: The Souk in Dar (b&b)

Oct 1: Selous Safari Camp

Oct 2-3: Jongomero in Ruaha

Oct 4-5: Ras Nungwi on Zanzibar

Oct 6: Overnight at Beyt Al Chai in Stone Town

Oct 7: Fly to Dar for connection to the states

LyndaS Sep 20th, 2007 11:33 AM

We DEFINITELY expect a trip report from you!!! :-)

sandi Sep 20th, 2007 11:46 AM

I'd think Fodor's would be a bit more generous with Selous. Only 1/day? You'll barely arrive and be out of there next day.

As to DAR, depending on when you arrive... most flights get in late afternoon or night, you might not have time to explore.

While in Stone Town, just remember that this is a Muslim community, so no shorts or abbreviated tops. Depending on when you arrive, you can walk about on your own, but do get a map and it's all narrow winding streets with not a street sign to be found. Or arrange thru the hotel for a guided tour. Beit al Chai is a charming small hotel right across from the Serena Inn.

Second Lynda - a trip report on return, please. Happy travels.

AlexisK Sep 20th, 2007 12:02 PM