Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Africa & the Middle East (https://www.fodors.com/community/africa-and-the-middle-east/)
-   -   First safari - few days in Sabi Sands (https://www.fodors.com/community/africa-and-the-middle-east/first-safari-few-days-in-sabi-sands-569069/)

Geraint Nov 6th, 2005 01:53 AM

First safari - few days in Sabi Sands

Hi everyone,
Fascinating chat here at Fodors, I've spent hours consuming all the info and feel like I know some of you already!
I'm new at the safari thing and would like to spend a few days on my South africa trip next March game-viewing.
So far I'm flying into Cape town & spending a few days there then off via the Winelands to the Garden Route ending at Addo for a couple of days. Then the plan is safari & Victoria Falls before heading home.
From the board it sounds like the best game is in Sabi Sands (though Shamwari sounds great too). I'd like as much luxury and privacy as my British Pounds will allow, but unfortunately can't afford the Singita's of this world.
At the moment I'm veering towards 3 or 4 lodges. Simbambili (as Roccco speaks so highly of his last trip there), Mala Mala (Sable Camp) - sounds like Mala Mala has the best game and a larger patch of land than some others. Exeter Dulini has plenty of positive feedback. Possibly Chitwa Chitwa main lodge (looks very comfy but is the game as good up north?).
I do like my food and wine but the game is a priority as I can do all that on the rest of my trip.
All your ideas , feedback, tips etc will be very welcome to this very excited safari virgin.

Roccco Nov 6th, 2005 06:10 AM

Geraint,

Chitwa Chitwa and Simbambili share the save traversing areas so you will see the exact same wildlife.