DUBAI STOPEOVER

Old Jan 28th, 2005, 07:16 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
DUBAI STOPEOVER

I'm a newbie here. I am travelling alone to Europe in Jly/Aug and am stopping over in Dubai for 2 nights, I realise its okay for women to go around on their own their but am wondering if there is anything I should know or be wary off.
My plane doesn't arrive til late evening is it okay to catch a cab I am staying at the Le Meridian.
Old Jan 28th, 2005, 07:50 AM

Absolutely no problem at all. taxis are highly organised, smart cars and smart drivers. You will enjoy the shopping and some great restaurants. Naturally although Dubai is an amazingly safe place that doesn't mean you throw away common sense, Dubai residents fine but remember 'other tourists' they might not be so honest!!
Oh and do dress sensible and modest.
Old Jan 28th, 2005, 05:57 PM

I'll bet the Le Merieden you are staying at is the one directly across from the airport. There is a shuttle bus operating between the airport and the hotel. If you don't want to wait for the bus, cabs are very safe. Malls are great, you see women in everything from abayas (aka black bags) to miniskirts. Nobody seems to fuss about what you are wearing. The dubai museum is a good place to visit, its basically located underneath the old fort in the center of town.
Weather in July/August will be unbelievably hot and humid, don't plan on walking anywhere unless you are acclimated to the tropics
Old Jan 29th, 2005, 12:20 AM

Hi

You should be fine My wife and I went to Dubai on vacation in March a couple of years back and we had a great time there. I have posted a trip report with some pictures from our stay in Dubai on my homepage http://gardkarlsen.com Maybe you can find some useful information there

Regards
Gard
Stavanger, Norway
Old Jan 29th, 2005, 01:50 AM
Original Poster

Thank you all so much for your replies. puts my mind at rest. At 62 modesty is my middle name will certainly check out the web sit Gard