Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Africa & the Middle East
Reload this Page >

Suggested Africa tour group for solo traveler?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 11th, 2005, 05:58 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Total newbie to Africa travel. If given 12 days where should ones first trip be? Would enjoy a tented safari, seeing some of the ocean, a group where I would be comfortable as a solo. Not too pricey..
Thanks
Old Jun 12th, 2005, 07:11 AM

Hello...I am also a solo traveler. I'll be going to Zambia in September with Wilderness Travel. The price is reasonable and there are only 5 or 6 people on the safari and, as far as I know, 3 of us are solos.

If you're interested in Botswana, Natural Habitat has a small group safari called "Secluded Botswana".
Another Botswana small group option is called "The Great Wilderness Journey" which uses Wilderness Safaris camps and lodges and can be arranged through any number of operators (check out Fish Eagle Safaris).
Old Jun 12th, 2005, 09:41 AM

foodiern,

You have a couple different options. You may want to do a mobile camping safari to Botswana with Wilderness Safaris, the best regarded company in possibly all of Africa, or you may want to do solo travel with another highly regarded company CCAfrica, staying in their lodges or on a mobile camping safari. The good thing about CCAfrica is that their lodges do not charge a single supplement.

By requesting to see some of the ocean, with only 12 nights, you may be limiting yourself to South Africa, unless you do a very short safari. Chances are you are going to need at least 1 night in Johannesburg, and that you would want no less than 3 or 4 nights by the ocean (most likely Cape Town). That leaves only possibly 7 nights for your safari, which will take most every mobile camping safari out of the equation.