Notices

Dubai Info Please

Aug 31st, 2008, 08:16 AM
Original Poster

Dubai Info Please

Hello all,
I'm interested in visiting Dubai with the intention of seeking employment there. While I would appreciate general suggestions, I have some specific questions.

1. US citizens can obtain a visa upon arrival. However I'm not clear on how long I can stay in Dubai on a visitor visa. Depending on which web site you look at, its 30 days, 60 days or 90 days!! Anyone know for sure what it really is?
2. Will my US cellphone work in Dubai or the UAE in general? I have an old Nokia with no bells and whistles. I will of course use a local service provider to avoid intnl roaming charges. A pre-paid card maybe? Is this easy to obtain?
3. Any idea as to housing costs? SInce its going to be a one month trip at least. Whats the best way to find accommodation?
4. Any idea as to what the job market there is like? I have about 15 years of admin/mgmt support experience working for reputed financial firms in New York. I'm not too fussy about the kind of work I get so long as it pays the bills and I have some savings left over.
5. Whats with the passport thing? Someone told me the employer holds your passport? Is this true? Not sure I like this - is it legal? Why would they do that?

Again thanks in advance. Cheers!!
Aug 31st, 2008, 04:59 PM
lbj

Wanderlust,

1. You can obtain a visitors permit on arrival.

2. Your cell phone should work, though it would be cheaper to purchase a local SIM card as calls are quite reasonable

3. Housing costs are very high. For a number of reasons, rental supply is very low. One bedroom in a shared flat in the Marina start at around $2200 per month.

Best way to find accommodation is to look on www.dubizzle.com