Search

LIZ: Park Fees

Search this Thread

Old Aug 5th, 2003, 06:44 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
LIZ: Park Fees

Liz

You can pay the ranger at Governor's Camp or at the ranger checkpoint when you arrive. It can be in USD or schillings. No checks, no credit cards.

Sharon
Old Aug 5th, 2003, 07:27 PM
LizFrazier

Sharon-
Thanks. Did this happen to you? Did you carry that much cash with you? No travellers checks? Liz

Old Aug 5th, 2003, 09:28 PM
Original Poster

Like you, I'm an obsessive researcher- so I knew ahead of time that I would have to pay the park fees in cash. I used my bank card at the ATM at Sarit Shopping Center when I got to Nairobi. The exchange rate was very good - and I think there was a $3.00 service charge.
I'm thinking that you said you were going to fly right out to the Mara after arriving in Nairobi (was that you?). So - the only problem with that plan might be the daily limit of cash you can get from the machine. My limit is $300 a day. But I traveled to several parks and was back in Nairobi in the middle of my stay - so I could replenish my money. I did carry a couple hundred dollars worth of shillings with me during my entire stay- divided up between my wallet, money belt, etc.
Re: travellers checks. This was my first trip to Africa, but I had been to other non-western countries - and travellers checks were always a major hassle. So, I generally rely on cash, credit cards, and my ATM card.

I think I would have been more apprehensive about carrying cash - if I had been on a road trip (as you know, highway robbery is not just a phrase there)
- but I flew to each of the parks in Kenya.

I envy your trip during the migration! I thought once I had finally been to Africa I would get it out of my system - but I've definitely been bit - and now have chronic "African Fever!!"
Sharon
Old Aug 6th, 2003, 05:41 AM
LizFrazier

Sharon-