Dream of Botswana safari soon to be a reality.

Sep 28th, 2005, 09:40 PM
Original Poster

Dream of Botswana safari soon to be a reality.

After months of enjoyable reading of this forum (especially Rocco's comments), I finally decided to become a "Fodorite" and share with you my trip to Africa which I have been dreaming about for more than 20 years. I know a lot of you are really into Zambia, but I have always wanted to go to Botswana. Each time I read something new I wonder if I picked the right camps. As it is now booked there is no turning back! Here goes:

June 16 Vancouver to London to JB to Maun
June 18 Riley's Hotel
June 19 Kwetsani Camp (3 nights)
June 22 Duba Plains (3nights)
June 25 Duba Tau (3 nights)
June 28 River Club (3 nights) Canoe trip
July 2 London - Chesterfield Mayfair (5 nights)

More time on safari would have been nice but with the exchange rate it just wasn't possible.
Sep 28th, 2005, 10:06 PM

Five nights in London? Great city, and I've enjoyed my time there (I have relatives there, so I've got to go occasionally), but more time on safari would have been my choice. Botswana is my favourite, and I know you will have a really great time. I didn't dream about it for 20 years. I thought about it on the spur of the moment some years ago, chose Botswana and went, then tried a few other places, and finally returned to Bots again and again.

Don't worry about your choice of camps. We all have our favourites, and I return to mine frequently, but I've never been disappointed by any other. It's Africa which counts! I approve of your three nights at each camp. That's about the minimum IMO, because it's only two full days and one or two half days, although if there were only two nights available at a place I really wanted to see, I would be tempted.

If you make use of Duma Tau's elevated hide overlooking the start of the Savuti channel, think of me because I've often looked across the channel at it from a Selinda vehicle.