Calling Detective Rocco! Important Question

Sep 19th, 2004, 08:25 PM
Original Poster

Calling Detective Rocco! Important Question

I am brand new to africa- but i couldn't help but notice this on the kwando information web site. i wonder if you could investigate and let us know what this means- are kwando still part of this hunting company?

From the kwando web site: "In the early 1950's a company formed under the name of White Hunters of Africa. It grew to have hunting operations in much of Southern and East Africa. In the early 1960's the company changed its name to Hunters Africa and regionalised it's operations with Hunters Africa (Botswana) (Pty) Ltd. formed.

This company, along with 2 other predominantly hunting companies, controlled much of the wildest parts of Northern Botswana, long before the days of photo tourism.

In the late 1980's the government developed a new conservation and tourism strategy that recognized the value of the great tracts of wilderness that remained in Botswana. This strategy involved intensive study and debate that finally led to complete restructure of the control and management of the wilderness areas.

During the transition, Hunters Africa, like the other large hunting companies lost considerable portions of its former concessions to new companies. The new operators mostly concentrated on photo tourism. Kwando at 232 000ha (550 000 acres) is the largest of these concessions resulting from the new policy. This concession was awarded to Hunters Africa."

Sep 20th, 2004, 12:44 AM

Kerikeri,

I researched this before, as I am very interested in staying at Kwando's camps (Lagoon, Kwara and Songwe Village). I was very satisfied that Kwando did not engage in any hunting activities, neither now or in the last few years. I am not concerned about anything that may have happened 5 - 10+ years ago, otherwise, half of the current game lodges in all of Southern Africa may be guilty of hunting operations, including the Sabi Sand reserves.