Business Class Travel to Johannesburg

Aug 3rd, 2005, 08:36 PM
Original Poster

Business Class Travel to Johannesburg

I need help planning a trip. I am going to Swaziland on a medical mission, and it is my first time traveling to Africa. Can anyone give me tips on how to travel by Business Class for the best price? usairways ff miles, but I'm willing to foot the cost.
Aug 3rd, 2005, 08:43 PM

Rocco might have some suggestions. I think he mentioned finding a business class fare from LAX to JNB on Lufthansa for $3750. I think that's about as good as it gets. Where are you flying from?
Aug 3rd, 2005, 08:49 PM
Original Poster

I am currently in Los Angeles, but will be traveling to the Washington, DC just before the trip. I plan to travel from the Washington area (BWI or IAD) from September 4-6th returning September 20-24th.
Aug 3rd, 2005, 09:16 PM

DrWillow,

If you are an American Express Platinum Card member, you may get a flight from LAX - Cincinnati - Frankfurt - Johannesburg for under $4000. More than likely you would be able to have a stopover in Cincinnati, and it would still be worth your while to fly at an additional expense, separately, from Cincinnati to Washington DC.

I do believe that Business Class air from DC to Joburg will be double the cost on SAA.
Aug 3rd, 2005, 09:42 PM
Lin

drwillow: Two points: If you are a Platinum American Express card holder (you can do this by paying $400) they have a buy one get one free benefit for business class - you don't say whether you are traveling alone? My second point is, why are you so set on going business class? I can tell you after three trips, SAA is really pretty comfortable in economy class and with all the movies you will get through the trip just fine.
Aug 3rd, 2005, 09:52 PM
Original Poster

Lin,