Search

HELP NEEDED: LEADWOOD OR PRIVATE GUIDE AT NGALA OR KIRKMAN'S

Search this Thread

Old Mar 24th, 2012, 07:30 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
HELP NEEDED: LEADWOOD OR PRIVATE GUIDE AT NGALA OR KIRKMAN'S

Hi all,

I currently have 7 nights planned in Kruger: 3 nights at Leadwood and 4 at Londolozi. When I booked at Leadwood, I did so under the assumption that 8 per vehicle is unlikely (that's what I was told by the &Beyond rep I was dealing with). I have since learned that most people suffer with 8 people in a vehicle at Leadwood. Given that I am an avid photographer, I don't think the 8 person per vehicle standard works for me. So my question is whether it's better to go for either of Ngala or Kirkman's and use a private guide/tracker. If anyone who has been to Leadwood and/or one of Ngala or Kirkman's can share their experiences, I would be extremely grateful. FYI, luxury is definitely less important to me than wildlife.
Old Mar 24th, 2012, 08:52 PM

Last thing first. I have been to Ngala Lodge (not Ngala Tented) and Kirkmans. I will -not- go back to Ngala Lodge but certainly would go back to Kirkmans.

As also an avid photographer, I feel your pain. First, which Ngala, Lodge or Tented? Ngala Lodge is not in a good location for game viewing. At Ngala Lodge to get to the best viewing you have drive south about 20 minutes (to near Ngala Tented). This is disastrous, for the best light late in the afternoon.

Also, if you are "stuck" in a vehicle with 7 other guests, set in the passenger seat by your guide. Better than in middle with guest on each side of you. And, you get a nice low perspective on the critters which I like. Of course your guide on you side blocks you some.

regards - tom
Old Mar 24th, 2012, 08:59 PM

Oh, but to your question .
By far best choice is private guide at Kirkmans.

regards - tom
Old Mar 24th, 2012, 09:11 PM
Original Poster

Thanks Tom.