Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Africa & the Middle East
Reload this Page > Air fare is low so where should I go for my first time in Africa?

Air fare is low so where should I go for my first time in Africa?

Aug 7th, 2013, 05:26 PM
Original Poster

Air fare is low so where should I go for my first time in Africa?

Air fare is pretty low from LAX to Johannesburg - approx. $1026 rt in February, approx $886 to Nairobi. I am an Africa newbie so haven't a clue as to where to go or how much things will cost. It would be my husband, me & possibly our college age daughter. We are really interested in maximizing wildlife viewing. We have travelled throughout Asia & South America viewing wildlife. We are not high end travelers and lower budget accommodations are fine with us. I have planned all of our trips using Fodor's forums and have really appreciated all of the help I've gotten to plan stunning trips. I amreading previous posts to try to figure out where we would like to go on the vast African continent.
Your help would be appreciated.
Aug 8th, 2013, 12:40 PM

Pick up a copy of Fodor's "Complete Safari Planning Guide" that covers all the safari countries. Lots of useful information to help you decide.

If that $886 fare is on Turkish air know that it arrives in the middle of the night (around 1:30 or 3:30am) and the departure is likewise in the middle of the night. And TK is known to change schedules. Just don't want you to be surprised. And with arrivals at those hours, you get charged for hotel the night prior and an overnight last day vs a dayroom.

You might want to spend a few extra $$$ for another carrier who doesn't make changes or have such odd arrival/departure hours.