Africa: First Timer requests help

Nov 5th, 2007, 02:44 PM
Original Poster

Africa: First Timer requests help

I'm a newbie. Dream trip is a photo expedition/safari to Africa. The time is nigh ...
I'm 43, married, husband has no interest (and would kinda be in the way). I'm an advanced photog who has no problem travelling alone.
Questions:
Where should I go?
How long?
How do you fly with photo equipment re: theft/safety?
Money isn't really an object (this is a dream trip, after all).
I definitely want to do the tent accommodation but quite like the idea of mixing it with a high end lodge, too.
I've reviewed the various posted itineraries, but don't know the country well enough.
Any and all advice welcome!
Carol - Ontario, Canada
Nov 5th, 2007, 03:51 PM

Carol,

There's a group from Ontario going on a photo safari to Kenya in January 2008.

If you're interested, send us your email address, and they can send you all the details.

Apart from that, there are quite a few photo safaris offered on this board... namely Andy Biggs and Jonathan Scott (Big Cat diary)
Nov 5th, 2007, 03:56 PM

I am a fellow Canadian who moved from Ontario to BC. Welcome to the forum!

Here's a chart that a lot of newbies refer to in getting started with the planning:

http://www.africa-adventure.com/dsp_besttime.html

Where should I go? How long?
These might be answered if you can determine what time of year you can go. Another consideration is whether you'd like to plan a private safari or group trip.

If budget is no object as you indicate, you can consider either East Africa or Southern Africa, with East Africa generally considered less expensive. If you are interested in seeing the greatest migration of wildlife on earth, then East Africa is a photographers dream.

I personally go for as long as my budget allows, and only consider private safaris.
Nov 5th, 2007, 04:59 PM