Organized South African Tour...

Old May 31st, 2003, 02:50 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Organized South African Tour...

Found this one right on Fodors website:

http://www.fodors.iexplore.com/trip/tour_int.jhtml;$sessionid$TFX1TSIAAQ5GYP2MN5XCFEQ? tripD=feature_trip&tourID=16878

I am not an expert by any means but this looks like a ripoff to me. $8,000 for this trip for two people???

This trip, for $3,999 pp, in short, is:

4 nts at an unspecified 4* Cape Town hotel
1 night in Knysna at unspecified hotel/lodge
2 nights at Ngala
Daily tours.
INTERNATIONAL AIR EXCLUDED

Likely, the 4 nights at the Cape Town hotel should not be worth more than $600 USD for a place like the Commodore Waterfront.

The four daily tours in Cape Town should not be worth more than $600 Total.

The one way flight to George (Knysna) should not be worth more than $300 USD Total.

The one night in Knysna should not be worth more than $150 USD Total.

The flight from George to Hoedspruit should not be worth more than $300 USD Total.

The two nights at Ngala, including airport transfers, should not be worth more than $1,500 USD total in the low season.

The flight back to Joburg from Hoedspruit should be about $300 Total.

Throw in a few more airport transfers and value them at $249 USD total and that gets the GRAND TOTAL that anybody could put this trip together for on their own for $3,999.00, or half the price what the price is for this package!

If you want 5* hotels, it only gets worse and goes up to $5,399 low season. The only difference I see is that the hotel room in Cape Town just went up $100 per night ($400 total), also throw in an extra $100 for the night in Knysna, and throw in about $500 extra for Mala Mala instead of Ngala. So, while it would cost each person an extra $500 ($125 per night) to upgrade to a 5* package, the tour company has the audacity to ask for an additional $1,400 per person.