Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Africa & the Middle East (https://www.fodors.com/community/africa-and-the-middle-east/)
-   -   9 hour layover in Nairobi (https://www.fodors.com/community/africa-and-the-middle-east/9-hour-layover-in-nairobi-876049/)

Annie1027 Jan 31st, 2011 08:21 PM

9 hour layover in Nairobi

Hi,
I'll be connecting in Nairobi coming from Kigali and going to Europe, arriving at about 2pm and leaving shortly before 11pm during the week.
9 hours layover sems like a lot of time, so originally I was thinkng to get a day transit visa and going to the Giraffe Center and getting dinner at Talisman. But now I was reading a few articles which said the traffic can be really bad in Nairobi especially in the afternoon. And since it is my first time to Nairobi airport I am a little unsure now what to do. Any recommendations? Does the planned day trip sound doable? Or too risky to get back to the airport in time?
Thank you.
Annie

123vigael Feb 1st, 2011 03:04 AM

Its true traffic in Nairobi can really be bad especially going to the airport.but the time you have there is enough for approximately 3hours half day Nairobi excursion,which will end around or before 6.00pm.giving you enough time to go to the airport..Since you will be leaving at 10pm.Giraffe center is a good place to visit since its not very far from the airport.
Thank you
Victoria
Nappet Tours & Travel

roadwarriorafrica Feb 1st, 2011 06:21 AM

Hi Annie

If you have checked you luggage through from Kigali to Europe, then it will be very easy. You should be out of JKIa (assuming your flight is on time) by 2:30 / 2:45 pm. It will take maximum one hour to get to the Giraffe's. So say 4:00 pm. Then you have till 6:30 pm exploring Karen. Dinner at Talisman at 7:00 pm. Leave Talisman by 8:30 pm, and you will be at the airport by 9:30 pm.

Very easy.

Enjoy Nairobi.

RWA

atravelynn Feb 1st, 2011 07:03 AM