Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Africa & the Middle East
Reload this Page >

25 days in Morocco - What is a must, What is to skip ?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Feb 19th, 2020, 03:12 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi all,

Heading to Morocco this week (feb.21st), first time.

Landing in Casablanca and heading directly south to Marrakesh.

I have a total of 25 days. I'm a photographer, so looking for the real things, the real Morocco, not necessarily the most touristy places.

Trying to plan ahead, I know I have to skip some places, don't want to rush things.

What would you recommend ? How many days in each cities ?

I was planning to go to Essaouira after Marrakesh, then Tafraoute (for the almond blossom), Ouarzazate the South east to Zagora and surroundings. Then what ??

Heading north by plan ? Fez and Chefchaouen for sure.

But what about Mergouza ? Tangier ? Rabat ? Worth the detour ?

Any advices on how to save travel time between cities?

How many days and nights in Marrakesh ? Essaouira ? Fez ? Casablanca ?

Open for any suggestions or advices.

Thank !!!

Vincent
Old Feb 19th, 2020, 05:06 PM

Vincent,
All of Morocco is a visual treat! It’s really hard to say “hoe much” or “how long” as its all amazingly photogenic.

Fez is remarkable - a real entry into another world. To me, more vibrant than Marrakech.

Chefchaouen is very visual, but of all the places we visited, I found it most touristy. It’s like a stage set with the intensely painted blue walls.

We found Essaouira charming - much more “real”. A pretty town, but a wonderful mix of tourists and locals.

I’m posting my trip report from 2 years ago - you might find it helpful in planning.
Morocco, A Visual Journey
Old Mar 31st, 2020, 02:18 PM

I would include Meknčs. We spent 9 or 10 days in Morocco in November 1993, traveling by train going from Marrakesh to Meknes to Fez and then back to Marrakesh by long distance bus. This is what we saw on that trip.