Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Cusco and the Sacred Valley Hotels

Hotel Libertador Palacio del Inka

  • Plazoleta Santo Domingo 259 Map It
  • $$$$
  • Trusted Brand

Pros

  • Contemporary rooms with all the conveniences
  • Some rooms have views to the Sun Temple
  • Close to the action but not in the thick of it

Cons

  • Modern rooms lack the character of some other lodgings
  • Customer service is reportedly uneven

Updated 11/30/2012

Fodor's Review

Close enough, but still removed from the hubbub of the Plaza de Armas, the glass-covered lobby of this hotel may look like an airport, but it gives you a good idea of the sleek contemporary design that is the signature of this hotel chain. This hotel on the tiny Plazoleta Santo Domingo was the last home of Francisco Pizarro, the first governor of Peru. The modern rooms have colonial touches, some with original furniture, and all have central heating to keep out the chill.

The plush bar makes a mean pisco sour.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Plazoleta Santo Domingo 259, Cusco, Peru

Map It

Phone:

084-231–961; 01-518–6500-(reservations)

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 250 rooms, 4 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 11/30/2012

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Cusco and the Sacred Valley

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Clau002

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 27, 2009

Hotel Libertador Palacio del Inka Review

The hotel was magnificent and my friends and I had the most comfortable and stress-free time. The view of the city was everything we needed to feel the real experience of Cusco. I was extremely happy with our choice, there’s no other hotel like Libertador. I felt like we didn’t miss out on anything, like having the whole Andean experience right in front of us. Cusco is filled with so many people from around the world and thanks to Libertador we

were all able to be a part of that.

Read More

By mrcrab1

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 11, 2008

Terrific home base

Lovely hotel where the staff greets you with a cup of mate de coca as you check in. Quiet, but close to the main areas, so you get the best of both.

By emc8760

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 18, 2007

Expensive but Very Nice Hotel

Service here is incredible, and the atmosphere is wonderful. Rooms are quite small but very clean and nice, and facilities like Internet are very accessible.

By Rachel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 9, 2006

Bad plumbing for such an otherwise excellent hotel

This is a beautiful hotel. Room is comfortable with nice firm mattress and very quiet. Super high tech elevators. Restaurant is absolutely outstanding and breakfast buffet has everything one could want plus some. Only complaint is the plumbing, which is horrible. We had to change rooms because neither the sink nor the toilet would drain properly, and we had a flood in the bathroom. In the new room, toilet and sink worked fine, but the shower

was deadly--the temperature went from freezing cold to literally scalding hot without warning, I presume when someone in another room flushed their toilet. There were so many erratic temperature fluctuations that I just took a bath instead of a shower the 2nd day.

Read More

By Steven

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 22, 2005

Old-World Elegance

My partner and I stayed at the Libertador last week and found it charming and elegant. We had a large room with very comfortable beds, and service was impeccable. Our only complaint was that, unlike at other hotels in Peru, no bottled water was provided free of charge. The hotel guide noted that the water was purified and suitable for drinking, but we were dubious and in no mood to take chances.

By Pierre

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 14, 2004

Best 5 stars of Cusco

Try it and know why it is the best 5 stars of Cusco since 20 years. Great Hotel and service!!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 1, 2003

Haven of peace

We had a large and quiet room ; the lift seemed a bit noisy, even from far away, but the hotel was really first class. Impossible to find better accomodation in Cusco. Atmosphere is great, and furniture very impressing. First class, really.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement