Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Cusco and the Sacred Valley Restaurants

Granja Heidi

  • Cuesta San Blas 525 Map It
  • $
  • International

Updated 11/30/2012

Fodor's Review

Don't be mistaken: Heidi is not the owner, but rather the mule who resides on the nearby farm where the owners get much of the produce for this San Blas restaurant. Yep, it's all about the farm here, especially the farm-fresh yogurt—something definitely worth trying. Lunch and dinner are quite satisfying, with plenty of choices of soups, salads, crepes, meat, and vegetarian plates. Save room for one of the yummy desserts and coffee.

Restaurant Information

Address:

Cuesta San Blas 525, Cusco, Peru

Map It

Phone:

084-238–383

Restaurant Details:

  • No credit cards
  • Closed Sun.

Updated 11/30/2012

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Cusco and the Sacred Valley

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 26, 2011

Granja Heidi Review

While tracking in and around Cusco, Peru my wife and I took advantage of Heidi's Farm for two meals. Both were superb with a great value on the price. I commented to the co-owner (I presume) that his establishment serves quality food that would cost me 5 times as much in New York. My only regret was that we weren't in Cusco long enough to have breakfast there too.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 30, 2009

Granja Heidi Review

For about $7.50 you can get a great lunch in a very comfortable and clean restaurant in one of the best locations in Cusco - between the Plaza de Armas and San Blas. We had a very good Menu Lunch which included an appetizer, soup, main course, small desert and a drink. If there is one thing you should know about Cusco restaurants it is that consistency, especially with quality food, is very hard to find. Reviewers maybe applauding a place in May

but by December the chef or cook may have left and you get a different dinning experience. You can count on one hand the places in Cusco that have consistently high quality in food, cleanliness and service. 'Granja Heidi' is one place you can depend that the high standard stick. The reason for this restaurants succeeds is the hands-on involvement of German Owner Karl Heinz-Horner. He is there circulating among the guest (see photo), assuring quality and attention to details. Thanks Karl. But, because 'Granja Heidi' is successful it can be difficult to get a table. So, either go early or call for reservations... you will be glad you did. Recommended.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 11, 2008

Never eat here!!

The food is ok, but the owner and staff are horribly rude. We had to wait more than one and a half hour for a breakfast only. They forgot about our drinks and the bread was half eaten already, clearly used for another table before us. When we asked for some fresh bread, they got mad and insulted us in many ways.

By Bob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 15, 2004

Closed for Remodeling in June 2004

Took a cab hoping to eat here. However, it is closed for remodeling as of the first week in June 2004. Double check that it is open before making a trip out of your way.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement