Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Santiago Hotels

Hotel Orly

  • Av. Pedro de Valdivia 027 Map It
  • Fodor's Choice

Pros

  • Attractively decorated
  • Excellent maintenance
  • Free Wi-Fi

Cons

  • Difficult to get a room on short notice

Updated 12/31/1969

Fodor's Review

A treasure like this in such a convenient location in the middle of Providencia is a real find. The shiny wood floors, country-manor furnishings, and glass-domed breakfast room make this hotel as sweet as it is economical. Rooms come in all shapes and sizes, so ask to see a few before you decide. Warm shades of terra-cotta predominant and the high-quality wood furniture gleams with careful polishing. Cafetto, the downstairs café, owned by the hotel but also open to the

public, serves some of the finest coffee drinks in town.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Av. Pedro de Valdivia 027, Santiago, 750 1012 Providencia, Chile

Map It

Phone:

2-252–0051; 2-231–8947

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 25 rooms, 3 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 12/31/1969

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 28, 2013

Unprofessional, Dishonest, Worst Service Ever, Shouldn't be a Foder's Choice.

This hotel canceled my reservation and gave me absolutely no notice. I made a reservation via email for a date 4 days in advance on behalf of my aunt and her friend, had my reservation confirmed twice, and provided my cell phone number twice. When we showed up at the hotel at 9:30 at night the date of the reservation, we were told that we no longer had one because of construction work or something going on next door (the reservation was for a Saturday

night). The guy working at the front desk was totally clueless and could only say "I imagine" when I said that I had just made the reservation recently and I should have been contacted about the cancellation. The hotel's "consolation" was that they would pay for a taxi to another hotel across the river (which would have been dangerous to walk from) and down the way some, about half an hour away walking from the hotel, my apartment or the metro. We declined, as this was completely inconvenient for us and for the plans we had for the following day. Shortly after this incident, the hotel offered us a dinner as compensation (they offered this compensation on the condition that I remove my Trip Advisor review from the website after the dinner). However, a couple days later, a rude hotel administrator told us to forget the offer, and simply told us to send an email to their attorney. This is the worst hotel service and treatment that I have ever received, and I have been to Italy, Brasil, Argentina, etc. I have never before been told to solve the problems we encountered due to their horrible management through speaking with their attorney. We plan on taking legal action for the danger that the hotel exposed us to, coming from the airport, at night, in a dark foreign city, and telling us that we had to leave, cross a dangerous river (with only a cab one way), after which we searched, carrying our bags, for another hotel, walking through the night in Santiago. This experience has not made us want to travel in or promote travel in Chile to anyone.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 22, 2013

Just what a boutique hotel have to be

The only inconvenient could be that Plaza des armas is 30mn walk but there are subways and buses and if you like walking as us, it's not a problem... Rooms are of good size(ours were of good size), clean and quiet but we request back rooms. Bathroom are more than decent, with small tub,but this tub's size was a constant in all our chilean hotels. Highly recommanded

By keg180

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 3, 2009

Gem of a hotel!

I cannot say enough good things about Hotel Orly! We stayed there for 8 nights, and it was one of the most pleasant hotel experiences I have ever had. The place is charming, the service is fabulous, I agree that the front desk staff is top-notch, and the location and price are unbeatable. Truly, you are made to feel like an honored guest in a family member's home. We even arrived before check-in on our first day and were invited to free breakfast

(delicious), and they offered to prepare a guest bathroom for us to shower while we waited to check in. Free wireless is an extra bonus, and there are computers available for guest use. Cafetto, the cafe downstairs, is lively with great food and coffee, and an excellent wait staff. If I could take Hotel Orly with me to every country I visit, that would be a dream come true! We stayed at H.O. instead of the Hyatt for a conference, and other conference attendees were very jealous when they saw our accommodations and learned of the value. Highly recommended, would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Read More

By 100db

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 7, 2008

friendly service

Your review is right on, but also you should mention that the front desk is very friendly and helpful. The subway is near and you can walk to excellent restaurants like Aqui Esta Coco. A wonderful stay.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 4, 2003

Great stay but avoid their laundry services

The hotel is great. I stayed there while traveling on business. Their laundry service was a disaster. My expensive silk blouses came back a size shorter, and they would not take responsibility for it. In all fairness to them, I left the laundry order form blank. But in all my business travel experience, any professional hotel laundry service would know they needed to dry clean these pieces. I was there when they admitted accidently bleaching another

guest's garments as well, so I suspect my experience was not an aberration. For this reason, and for how they handled the incident, I rated them low on service. The friendly & lively next door cafe is a major plus.

Read More

By Pauline

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 12, 2002

Simply wonderful in every way!

Location, cleanliness, charm, helpfulness, all in abundance! Even the bed linens, edged in satin, are turned down at night with candies on the pillows. The charming glassed in garden breakfast room is a wonderful place to chat with other happy guests. Even umbrellas ready for free use of guests. I can hardly wait to stay there again.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement