Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Santiago Restaurants

Astrid y Gastón

Updated 12/31/1969

Fodor's Review

The Santiago branch of the restaurants owned by Lima-based chef Gastón Acuria introduced Peru's wonderful food to Chile, but it isn't as good as it used to be and is rather overpriced. It is, however, still worth a visit if only to try Astrid's desserts, such as the creamy confection called suspiro limeño, "sigh of a lady from Lima," a meringue-topped dish of dulce de leche, or the chocolate soufflé de chocococo with its melting center.

Restaurant Information

Address:

Antonio Bellet 201, Santiago, Chile

Map It

Phone:

2-650–9125

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed Sun. No lunch Sat.
  • Reservations essential

Updated 12/31/1969

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 11, 2014

avoid Astrid y gaston

I'm used to travel a lot around the world, and I'm ver fond of quality reastaurants. That's why I wend to Astrid y gaston. Well, the food was terrible, almost unedible (avoid above all the "piqueo astrid y gaston"). I left half of my starter in the plate, as it was unedible, I suppose ribs were cooked a week before and than put into my dish, octopus was too hard that I couldn't take it off from the toothstick. Furthermore, even though I left the

half of the starter in the dish, no one asked me what's was wrong with the food left in the dish. Second point, the service...,the wine list is not updated at all, no correct vintage. Third point, I do not understand what had happened to our water...we drank just 2 glasses but in the check we found 3600 pesos for the water. And again, no one asked us if we would like more water. At last, but not least,I spend the night vomiting. I guess the problem was with the ribs, not fresh at all. We spent 79600 pesos. Avoid it.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 25, 2012

Astrid y Gaston Review

We were so looking forward to dining at this restaurant. We knew of it as its Peruvian restaurant had made the San Pellegrino's list top 50 restaurants'list and we had been to and enjoyed a number of restaurants on that list. I have to say it was probably the most disappointing dining experience this trip to South America. The food was average taste and presentation-wise. The salmon fish balls were nothing more than very dry fried fish in batter.

The worse part was the service and wait-staff: dour-faced throughout and consistently failed to notice our empty glasses. They did not happy to be there and did not seem to work together, each focussed solely on the tables to which they were assigned. Not a place I would recommend.

Read More

By MkRitch

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 1, 2010

Astrid y Gaston Review

I have traveled 28 countries in the past 5 years for both business and pleasure. I went to Santiago 3 years ago and my business partner treated me to Astrid y Gaston and can honestly say that this is the most talked about restaurant not only for its wonderful atmosphere, but its spectacular food! I will be visiting Santiago on vacation this fall and will be taking my friends and family with me to this amazing restaurant. When I was there I enjoyed

some Tuna from Easter Island along with some Chocolate Souffle. (and lots of Pisco sours and wine!) Astrid y Gaston goes down as my #1 restaurant experience in the world. (Try to get a seat up top in their wine cellar! - nice, cozy and private)

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 6, 2008

I felt rushed

The food was excellent. The seabass was exquisite. However, the service was disappointing. The meal was not an event because the staff rushed every aspect of the experience. Walking in the front door to having the check placed in front of me took less than 30 minutes.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 1, 2007

Best food in Santiago

This restaurant is an absolute must- the food is innovative and delicious. Try the suckling pig or the rabbit, or really any of the seafood dishes are exceptional. If you only have one night in Santiago, this is the restaurant to try.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement