Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Rio de Janeiro Restaurants

Porcão Rio's

Updated 06/20/2013

Fodor's Review

A convenient location makes this branch of Rio's famous churrascaria the most popular one with travelers, though the Flamengo branch has a fabulous view. You'll get the same excellent service and quality of food here, but in a smaller space with no view.

Restaurant Information

Address:

Rua Barão da Torre 218, Rio de Janeiro, 22411–000, Brazil

Map It

Phone:

021-3202–9158

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 06/20/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Rio de Janeiro

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 23, 2007

For meat aficionados and beyond

First off, you don´t have to be a carnivorous meat lover to enjoy a meal at this place, but it helps. They also offer fish, sushi, plenty of side dishes and various salad items to suit even the pushiest of vegetarians. The service is excellent, since the waiters pretty much have everyone covered (no matter how crowded the establishment looks), and are constantly looking out for their customers. The restaurant has a nice vibe to it and a beautiful

view of one of Rio´s many classic locations, the Sugar Loaf (which is a welcome sight after a few beers).

Read More

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 23, 2004

Best BBQ in Rio

This is the local favorite and we think the meats are better than Mariu's which cost twice as much. The salad bar is not as extensive as Mariu's but definitely more than sufficient. For value and quality Porcao is our favorite BBQ resturant in Rio.

By Ken

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 23, 2004

Carnivore's Paradise

First of all, service was fantastic - attentive, helpful, and respectful, even if you're a tourist. Salad bar ok. The meat is fantastic, and it keeps coming. If you have to pick one kind of meat amongst the many, please try the picanha (top sirloin) - just a round rump with fat laden on top of the tenderest meat you ever have (other than Kobe, which they don't have). Skip dessert, you're there for the meat.

By ZZ

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 2, 2003

Dont miss it

Great restaurant. Go to the one on Flamingo (on the water and you can see Sugarloaf). By US standards, great price. As much sushi as you want, great meat, and great fish.

By Ricardo

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 2, 2003

Don't eat all afternoon to make room!

I go back every time I'm in Rio. The meats are absolutely delicious (my mouth is watering right now) and they keep coming. Side dishes and salad bar are top notch as well. A must!

By Brad

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 9, 2003

Meat me at Porcao

Everything was great - even the mystery meat.

By Don

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 22, 2002

Wear stretch pants

I have been eating at Porcao for close to 20 years, they have remodeled since then but the best rodizio in Ipanema. If you like all different types of meats served rodizio style then this is the fun place you are looking for.

By Joelle

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 14, 2002

Too much to eat!

Great buffet, excellent meat of various types. We went to the Flamingo branch, not the one on Ipanema. Excellent ratio Quality/Price.

By Sharon

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 29, 2001

Best Beef

We had one of the best nights in Rio in the Ipanema branch. Everything was wonderful - it was the best beef i have ever tasted.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement