Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Buenos Aires Restaurants

La Biela

  • Quintana 596 Map It
  • Argentine

Updated 07/10/2014

Fodor's Review

When the weather cooperates, locals and tourists mix and mingle at La Biela's outdoor tables—this despite the fact that there's a higher charge for the privilege. That leaves the dining room dominated by a local crowd. A blast from the past, this traditional café is one of the best spots in Recoleta for people-watching and celebrity-spotting. For the most part, it's place to linger over coffee and a pastry, or perhaps a savory sandwich at midday, but there's also a

full menu of local specialties, and they're not half bad.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Quintana 596, at Junín, Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires, 1129, Argentina

Map It

Phone:

11-4804–0449

Website: www.labiela.com

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 07/10/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all restaurants in Buenos Aires

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 25, 2012

La Biela Review

My favorite cafe in Argentina! Great service, from real professionals. Great ambiance under the trees, (sans the pigeons) food is top notch for menu type. Excellent for people watching while enjoying a cocktail or 2 or lunch, convenient location. Find Nic, the maitre'D great host ( tip him, trust me)

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 22, 2009

Purse snatchers paradise

Ladies, watch out for your purse in this popular restaurant! You are an easy target both inside and outside. It's gone before you know it!

By jcasale

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 16, 2008

A wonderful lunch!

A friend had recommended lunch here and we fortunately followed her advice. The location under the spreading branches of the old rubber tree was great and the food was very good. The prices were a little higher because we ate outside, but that is typical in BA. My pizza was the best we had in Argentina and the service was friendly and efficient.

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 3, 2006

Relax and enjoy the very best of BA

A wonderful place to just sit and watch the workd go by!

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 3, 2006

Shockingly bad

Great setting, but the food is among the worst I've had: It's obvious that these folks aren't even trying. The steak was tough overcooked (even when ordered rare) and drowning in canned sauce; the canned baby potatoes floating around the edge were soggy and disgusting. And the price was around 3x what a delicious steak-frites dinner cost at nearby Sanjuanino. It's probably a wonderful place to sit for coffee or drinks and watch the world go by

-- but don't eat there. Please.

Read More

By Ana

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 26, 2005

Be a Porteno! Go to La Biela!

This is a fantastic place for a cortado and a mezzaluna in the morning, or a light lunch, but the people watching is the best part.

By George

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 6, 2005

Afternoon Delight

Service was wonderful, food excellent, and the atmosphere romantic.

By Oscar

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 12, 2004

Typical local & trourist hang out. Good!!!

A group of 14 dropped on a late afternoon and were served promptly and graciously. Food was good, although some of us only ordered "tapa" like plates. We all came back later for another afternoon snack. Good ambiance. I recomend it.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement